Any good ideas for kick starting a compost bin pile?

Posted By: AnaCook  Posted On: Feb 20th, 2012  Filed Under: Home & Garden

Hello, I have been working on my compost bin and pile for about a month now.  I have collected non meat items that have not been cooked(peelings, tops from strawberries, egg shells, coffee grounds etc.), not shiny news paper(shredded), old cattle manure and grass trimmings.  Is there anything that I need to do before using it in my garden?

Thanks in advance for the help!

1. cowboy jack says:

I’m no expert on compost… (nor on gardening for that matter).  With so few scraps to add to mine, and it took so long to season, I gave up, and am doing true Square Foot Gardening… it’s so much easier than “Row Gardening”…  Turning your scraps, with some moisture will help get it ‘seasoned’… I just know that it must be “old”– as for cattle manure… I know that “green” manure of any type will burn the plants… So I went to the barn and dug down to get that which was so old as to be unidentifiable to add to my new “All New Square Foot Garden” Mel’s Mix (which must have 5 different composts) … The egg shells, if finely crushed, and the coffee grounds may be OK…. hope someone who knows more than I will sign in and give you more info. (And say if you need to ignore my input…) Shalom and good gardening, CBJ

2. cowboy jack says:

PS to the compost question… When I clean out the chicken house soon, I’ll put the manure in a bucket, add some water, and make a “tea” … My mother-in-law used to put that kind of ‘tea’ around her roses and they were outstanding! Maybe someone will sign on and tell us how long to wait, before it’s ‘cured,’ so’s not to burn anything… CBJ

3. AnaCook says: